Director of the University Department of Neurology

Professor Dr. med. Hans-Jochen Heinze CV, Curriculum Vitae


Photo: Mengert

Prof. Dr. Heinze holds degrees in both human medicine and mathematics. In 1985 after completing his medical training in neurology and qualifying for a teaching career in higher education, Dr. Heinze was awarded a two-year DFG fellowship with the Department of Cognitive Neuroscience at the University of California, San Diego.  While there, he studied electrophysiological recording methods.


Subsequently he worked as a senior physician at Hannover Medical School. In 1993, he became Director of the Department of Neurology II at the Medical Faculty at Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg.


In 1997 he became the Director of the Imaging Center in Magdeburg, and since 2002 has been Coordinator of the Magdeburg-Bremen Center for Advanced Imaging (CAI).


In addition, since 2005, he has been Director of the Department of Behavioral Neurology of the Leibniz Institute for Neurobiology. Effective July 1, 2008, H –J Heinze became Director of  the University Department of Neurology which was formed by combining the Departments of Neurology and Neurology II at the Medical Faculty. His areas of research include the functional imaging of cognitive functions, especially with regard to visual attention, the processing of rewards, behavioral neurology, memory, and consciousness.  He also works on the integration of newly developed imaging procedures into the practice of Clinical Neurology.


Prof. H.-J. Heinze representing the DZNE (German Centre for Neurodegenerative Diseases of the Helmholtz Association) which was established Magdeburg in 2009.  The DZNE operates in 8 locations:  Bonn, Dresden, Göttingen, Magdeburg, Munich, Tübingen, Rostock /Greifswald and Witten.


Since 2005, he has been a member of the Senate and Joint Committee of the German Research Council (DFG). 
On February 1, 2009, he was appointed by Federal President Horst Köhler to the German Council of Science and Humanities.



(Partial Listing)

2005 – Member of the Appropriations Committee (General Research Funding) of the German Research Foundation (DGF).
2005 – Member of the German Academy of Science

2001 – Representative of the Selection Committee, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation